For Latest Updates Like Our Facebook Page:


The next public holiday in Bangladesh is

30th October, FridayEid-e-Milad-un-Nabi

List of National and Regional Public Holidays of Bangladesh in 2020

FridayFriFeb 21, 2020Feb 21Shaheed Day
TuesdayTueMar 17, 2020Mar 17Sheikh Mujibur Rahman 's Birthday
ThursdayThuMar 26, 2020Mar 26Independence Day
ThursdayThuApr 09, 2020Apr 09Shab e-Barat
TuesdayTueApr 14, 2020Apr 14Bengali New Year / Bihu
ThursdayThuMay 07, 2020May 07Buddha Purnima
ThursdayThuMay 21, 2020May 21Laylat al Qadr
FridayFriMay 22, 2020May 22Jumatul Bidah
MondayMonMay 25, 2020May 25Eid Ul Fitr
FridayFriJul 31, 2020Jul 31Eid ul-Adha
TuesdayTueAug 11, 2020Aug 11Shuba Janmashtami
SaturdaySatAug 15, 2020Aug 15National Mourning Day
SundaySunAug 30, 2020Aug 30Ashura
SundaySunOct 25, 2020Oct 25Vijaya Dashami
FridayFriOct 30, 2020Oct 30Eid-e-Milad-un-Nabi
WednesdayWedDec 16, 2020Dec 16Victory Day
FridayFriDec 25, 2020Dec 25Christmas

Public Holidays in Bangladesh



Friday Oct 30, 2020

The upcoming Bangladesh holiday Eid-e-Milad-un-Nabi is in 1 days from today.

Victory Day

Victory Day

Wednesday Dec 16, 2020

The upcoming Bangladesh holiday Victory Day is in 48 days from today.



Friday Dec 25, 2020

The upcoming Bangladesh holiday Christmas is in 57 days from today.

2020 Public Holidays Bangladesh Service

The above is the list of 2020 public holidays declared in Bangladesh which includes federal, regional government holidays and popular observances. We also provide Bangladesh holiday calendar for 2020 in Word, Excel, PDF and printable online formats.

Bangladesh has several public holidays which are categorized into three; these are cultural holidays, national memorial holidays, and religious holidays. These holidays are based on different calendars. The official national calendar used in Bangladesh is known as the Banggabda. All national public holidays are based on this calendar. Religious holidays are celebrated according to Gregorian calendars. However, Islamic holidays are derived from the lunar calendar. For this reason, the holidays do not have fixed dates in the calendar; they keep on changing due to the difference in seasons.

Bangladesh has fifteen major public holidays each year. Students and employees gladly welcome this interruption to their daily routine. The government provides its employees with eleven paid holidays. The employees are entitled to payment if the bargaining contract states that they should be paid on the optional holidays or when the employees are under a union that advocates for their wages and salaries. Bangladesh has four main religious groups, and each has its unique holidays; Muslims, Hindus, Christians, and Buddhists.

Muslims have four major holidays: Muharram, Eid ul-Fitr, Mawid and Eid ul- Adha is celebrated annually. The Hindus celebrate three holidays; Krishna, Janmashtami, Durga Puja. Vesak is the main Buddhist holiday, and it falls on the 25th of December every year. The major Christian holiday in Bangladesh is Christmas.

The national public holidays commemorate significant events and achievements throughout the history of Bangladesh. These public holidays are seen as a source of peace because they bring people together. The most significant National holiday is Independence Day. During this day, the public converges at different places to commemorate the holiday. The day is often marked by lots of Bengali cultural songs and dances.